Douglas Road Board/Council School Colwyn Bay, records of

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Douglas Road School opened in 1896.

The school was also known as Colwyn Bay Infant Council School. Miss ME Owen, the subsequent Head teacher of the Infant School began teaching at the mixed Conway Road Board School in January/March 1893 when the log book began. She took over duties in the Infant Department in February 1896. There were 150 scholars on the books.

The school remained a large school with 170 in 1925 and 191 in 1927. Miss Owen ran the school well using the latest ideas in the teaching of Infants and was often praised by HMI. This Infant school was the feeder school for the Conway Road mixed junior school but overcrowding there often meant that scholars had to be kept at Douglas Road beyond their Infant school age.

Miss Owen died in December 1925 and was followed by Miss CM Evans who died in February 1927. Miss M Hughes succeeded as Head teacher on 1st August 1927. Older Infants continued to be transferred to the mixed Conway Road school. In March 1938 there were 154 scholars divided into the nursery and babies and classes 1A and 1B and Standards 1A and 1B.

The school was relocated from Douglas Road into a new building on a site on Greenfield Road in January 2002. It became known as Ysgol Glan Y Mor.

This collection includes log books, admission registers and managers minutes.

Location

Douglas Road

Colwyn Bay

LL29 7PE

OS Map: Sheet 111/ 8 1913 Ed. (Infant School – Douglas Road)

Related material-

DD/DM/169/37- photographs, 1905, 1912-1913

CD/A/4/22- plans, 1896

CD/A/4/25- plans, 1907

CD/A/4/184- plans, 1976

CD/A/4/219- plans, 1970

CD/A/4/168- plans, 1970

Conditions Governing Access

All school records containing personal or sensitive information are closed for 75 years. This includes log books, admission and attendance registers and some minute books.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright restrictions apply.

Related Material

DD/DM/169/37- photographs, 1905, 1912-1913

CD/A/4/22- plans, 1896

CD/A/4/25- plans, 1907

CD/A/4/184- plans, 1976

CD/A/4/219- plans, 1970

CD/A/4/168- plans, 1970

Geographical Names