Gwyddelwern Parish Records

Scope and Content

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Historically Gwyddelwern was part of the Edeyrnion district of Meirionnydd.

Edeyrnion was part of the Glyndwr district of Clwyd from 1974 to 1996, when the area became part of the principal area of Denbighshire.

The ancient parish was divided into three divisions, each made up of several townships:

Cwm - Maes Gwyn; Maes Garnedd; Bonyronn & Trebach; Meiarth & Aelhaiarn.

Uwchmynydd - Bodgynfel & Clegir

Uwchafon - Cynwyd Fawr; Cynwyd Fechan; Perseithydd & Bodheulog.

The Uwchafon division was detached from the rest of the parish. In 1854 the townships of Cynwyd Fawr, Cynwyd Fechan and Bodheulog were transferred to the parish of Llangar. In 1864 the township of Persaethydd was transferred to the new parish of Llawr y Betws, togther with the townships of Llawr y Betws (from the parish of Llanfor) and Nantffreiar (from the parish of Llandderfel).

Information was taken from and,_Denbighshire_Genealogy (last accessed June 2015)


Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names