Records of Fishguard UDC, Goodwick UDC and Fishguard and Goodwick UDC, 1879-1983, comprising Clerks' records, 1890-1983, including minutes, 1907-1974, miscellaneous registers, 1899-1974, licences, 1940-1968, Second World War records, 1941-1945, byelaws, 1909-1958, Clerk's subject files, 1931-1983, orders, 1907-1934, deeds, leases and agreements, 1890-1974, and records relating to Llanwnda cemetery, 1940-1974; Treasurers' records, 1879-1973, including general ledgers, 1907-1973, valuation and rating records, 1879-1972, wages and salaries records, 1935-1971, bank books, 1914-1935, and abstracts of accounts, 1939-1973; Health Department records, 1911-1969, including various registers, 1923-1962; Surveyors' records, 1923-1974; and Fishguard and Goodwick Town Council minutes, 1974-1980.
Fishguard and Goodwick Urban District Council Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 FGU
- Dates of Creation1879-1983
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionTo be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Fishguard Urban District Council (UDC), Pembrokeshire, was established in 1907 under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. Goodwick UDC was similarly formed in 1923 from parts of the parishes of Jordanston, Llanwnda and Manorowen, Pembrokeshire. Both had previously been part of Haverfordwest rural district. They were amalgamated in 1934 to form Fishguard and Goodwick UDC. The Councils comprised councillors and a chairman, who originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities. The Councils' responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, cemeteries (operating Llanwnda cemetery), libraries, parks, controls on buildings such as petrol stations, and licensing of public entertainments. From 1925 they also became rating authorities. UDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor, Rating Officer and Sanitary Inspector. Fishguard and Goodwick UDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation. It was replaced by Fishguard and Goodwick Town Council and most of its previous powers were assumed by Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council.
Arranged into the following: Clerk's Department; Treasurer's Department; Health Department; and Surveyor's Department.
Transferred from the Town Hall, Fishguard, 1978, 1979; deposited by David Bowen, Secretary to Preseli District Council, 1979; transferred from Preseli District Council, 1985; transferred from Modern Records, 1982; deposited by the Solicitor's Department, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1986; deposited by R. Griffiths, Preseli Pembrokeshire District Council, 1988; deposited by Pembrokeshire County Council's Transportation and Environment Department per the Records Management Unit, 2001; transferred by Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest, 2002.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Fishguard and Goodwick Urban District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
The records of the Council passed to its successor bodies.
Accruals are not expected