LETTER: Ja. Williams, Llanfairynghornwy, to the secretary of the Charity Commission giving information requested by the Commission:
1. The reason for the delay in forwarding the accounts is the death of the builder who did some of the repair work at the almshouse.
2. The non-resident almsman is treated the same as others. He happened to have relatives living nearby and was allowed to live with them while his chamber was repaired.
3. Concerning the regulation regarding women pensioners he refers to the report of the Commissioners of Inquiry in which it was stated that the original intention of Lewis Rogers was not to include women.
4. The Regulation concerning attendance at church has been relaxed. Some of the almsmen attend chapel.
5. His connection with the charity began when he was perpetual curate of Penmynydd in 1819. He found the charity in a lamentable state and instigated a meeting of the trustees and the setting up of committee to investigate affairs and put them to rights. He left the curacy in 1821 and in 1826 the trustees passed a resolution asking him to continue his services. In 1837 he was elected a trustee.
6. There are at present 5 trustees, Lord Boston, Sir R.B.W. Bulkeley, Bart., O.A. Fuller Meyrick, John Williams Esq. and Rev. Ja. Williams. The practice of election to the almshouse is that 2 chambers were allocated to the four parishes and of the remaining two one alternated between Penmyndd and Pentraeth, and the other between Llanfihangel Esceifiog and Llanffinan. He explains that while a temporary vacancy helps to increase the general fund used for repairs, for which the founder made no provision, the chambers are not kept vacant if a suitable candidate offers himself for election.