Ecclesiastical Parish Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Ecclesiastical parish records, 1547 - 2003, including Aberffraw, 1719 - 2000; Amlwch, 1692 - 1998; Beaumaris, 1655 - 1971; Bodedern, 1695 - 1985; Bodewryd, 1813 - 1991; Bodwrog, 1754 - 1998; Ceirchiog, 1813 - 1842; Cerrigceinwen (or Cerrig Ceinwen), 1721 - 1999; Coedana, 1813 - 1991; Gwredog, 1839 - 1920; Heneglwys, 1693 - 2000; Holyhead (Caergybi), 1737 - 1992; Llanallgo, 1754 - 2000; Llanbabo, 1740 - 1986; Llanbadrig, 1731 - 1992; Llanbedrgoch, 1754 - 1987; Llanbeulan, 1754 - 1959; Llandegfan, 1547 - 1976; Llandrygarn, 1739 - 2000; Llandyfrydog (or Llandyfridog), 1690 - 1992; Llandysilio, 1755 - 1972; Llanddanielfab (or Llanddaniel - Fab), 1746 - 1992; Llanddeusant, 1754 - 1991; Llanddonna, 1762 - 1992; Llanddyfnan, 1661 - 1993; Llanedwen, 1747 - 1948; Llaneilian, 1678 - 1996; Llanerchymedd (or Llannerch - y - medd), 1761 - 2008; Llaneugrad, 1725 - 1993; Llanfachraeth (or Llanfachraith), 1682 - 1993; Llanfaelog, 1754 - 1971; Llanfaes (or Llan - faes), 1727 - 1975; Llanfaethlu, 1743 - 1983; Llanfair Mathafarn Eithaf, 1753 - 1996; Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll (or Llanfairpwll), 1754 - 1882; Llanfairynghornwy (or Llanfair - yng - Nghornwy), 1732 - 1987; Llanfair - yn - Neubwll, 1774 - 1993; Llanfair - yn - y - Cwmwd (or Llanfair y Cwmwd), 1885 - 2003; Llanfechell, 1691 - 1992; Llanfigel (or Llanfugail, Llanfigael), 1695 - 1991; Llanfihangel Dinsylwy, 1762 - 1991; Llanfihangel Tre'r Beirdd, 1695 - 1992; Llanfihangel - yn - Nhywyn (Llanfihangel - yn - Nhowyn), 1813 - 1996; Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog, 1703 - 2001; Llanfwrog, 1754 - 1992; Llanffinan, 1690 - 1992; Llanfflewyn (Llanfflewin), 1784 - 1987; Llangadwaladr, 1610 - 2001; Llangaffo, 1659 - 1992; Llangefni, 1709 - 1999; Llangeinwen, 1688 - 1993; Llangoed, 1754 - 1995; Llangristiolus, 1739 - 2000; Llangwyfan, 1775 - 2000; Llangwyllog, 1744 - 1992; Llanidan, 1746 - 1993; Llaniestyn, 1813 - 1992; Llanrhuddlad, 1785 - 1994; Llanrhwydrus (or Llanrhwydrys), 1745 - 1984; Llansadwrn, 1584 - 1970; Llantrisant, 1745 - 1975; Llanwenllwyfo, 1762 - 1989; Llanynghenedl, 1713 - 2010; Llechcynfarwy (Llechgynfarwy), 1743 - 1994; Llechylched, 1803 - 1997; Newborough (Niwbwrch), 1721 - 1971; Penmon, 1693 - 1995; Penmynydd, 1618 - 1994; Penrhosllugwy, 1578 - 1997; Pentraeth, 1740 - 1992; Rhodogeidio, 1754 - 1991; Rhosbeirio, 1813 - 1962; Rhoscolyn, 1732 - 1992; Rhosybol, 1877 - 2000; Talyllyn, 1845 - 1970; Trefdraeth, 1550 - 1999; Tregaian (or Tregaean), 1708 - 1992; and Trewalchmai, 1727 - 2000.

Some of the registers are copies of those held in the National Library of Wales.

(for details see C. J. Williams and J. Watts - Williams, Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru/Parish Registers of Wales (2000).

Administrative / Biographical History

Anglesey is in the Diocese of Bangor of the Church in Wales, and has 80 parishes. Registers of baptisms, marriages and burials are the most frequently consulted of the records. The parish records contain a variety of material relating to the parish.

Arrangement

Arranged by parish in order of receipt.

Conditions Governing Access

Marriage registers less than 82 years old, and Baptism Registers less than 100 years old; any personal data contained within these registers must be used in compliance with the Data Protection Act 1998. Your research will not be used to support measures or decisions with respect to particular individuals and will not cause or be likely to cause substantial damage or distress to any person who is the subject of those data while he or she is alive or likely to be alive.

Acquisition Information

Incumbents of the parishes.

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr gweddol /Fair condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Catalogue, Ecclesiastical parishes.

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Custodial History

The National Library of Wales was recognised as the repository for the Church in Wales's records in 1944. Following an agreement between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils in 1976, incumbents of parishes could decide whether to deposit in the National Library of Wales or the relevant County Record Office. Since then, the majority of the parish records have been deposited at Archifau Ynys Môn/Anglesey Archives.

Accruals

Disgwylir croniadau/Accruals are expected

Related Material

See Williams, C. J., and J. Watts-Williams, Cofrestri Plwyf Cymru/Parish Registers of Wales (Aberystwyth, 2000).