MAXWELL DAVIES MANUSCRIPTS. Vol. cxxxi. Shorter works; 1967-[1972].

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 2027 Add MS 71382
  • Alternative Id.
      (ark) ark:/81055/vdc_100000000970.0x00000e
  • Dates of Creation
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 item

Scope and Content

MAXWELL DAVIES MANUSCRIPTS. Vol. cxxxi. Shorter works; 1967-[1972].

ff. vi+54. Various sizes.

1. ff. 1-11. ‘Antechrist’ (J72), for septet; 1967. Ink full score; dated B[ar]t[ers] T[own], Apr. 1967 (f. 11). Published Boosey and Hawkes, 1969.

2. ff. 12-35. ‘Hymnos’ (J73), for clarinet and piano; 1967. Notes on change ringing (f. 12); drafts of all movements except III, in pencil and coloured crayon, as follows: V (f. 13r), I (ff. 13v-14r), II (f. 14r), IV (f. 14v), VI (f. 15r), VII (f. 15v), VIII (f. 16), IX (ff. 17-20); score, in ink but with part of no. IX in pencil (ff. 21-35). Published Boosey & Hawkes, 1970.

3. ff. 36-45. ‘Stedman Caters’ (J76), for sextet; dated 1968 (f. 44). Pencil full score, ‘revision of Sextet of 1958’ (f. 44). With separate marimba part for no. VIII (f. 45). Published Boosey & Hawkes, 1980.

4. ff. 46-48. ‘Fantasia and Two Pavans after Henry Purcell’ (J77), for sextet; 1968. Pencil full score of Pavans. Published Boosey & Hawkes, 1980.

5. ff. 49-50. ‘Epistrophe’ (J74), for 2 pianos; [ca. 1968]. Sketch and draft score, incomplete.

6. ff. 51-55. ‘Solita’ (J82), for flute; [1969, 1972]. Sketches. Published in Two Pieces for flute, Boosey & Hawkes, 1976. With preliminary sketches in short score for Foxtrot from ‘St Thomas Wake’, for which see Add. 71317.

Henry Purcell, composer and organist: Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, composer: 'Fantasia and Two Pavans after Henry Purcell' and 'Fantasia upon One Note' composed by Henry Purcell, arranged Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: 1968, 1973.

Access Information


Not Public Record(s)