- Annual reports 1903-1948
- Registers of admissions, discharges and operations 1899-1962
- Registers of accident cases admitted 1925-1968
- Register of staff 1899-1967
- Ward journals 1900-1947
Records of Alexander Hospital, Coatbridge, Lanarkshire
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Alexander Hospital was built and endowed from a bequest left by John Alexander, ironmaster and first Provost of Coatbridge. It opened in 1899 and accepted surgical and non-infectious cases from Shotts and Old and New Monklands. There were 20 beds in the original hospital which was extended in 1925 . In 1948 it passed into the National Health Service under the Board of Management for Coatbridge, Airdrie and District Hospitals. An out-patient department was added in 1954 and a General Practitioner maternity unit in 1962 . The hospital was placed in the Monklands and Cumbernauld District of Lanarkshire Health Board in 1974 and closed in 1978 .
Chronological within record class
Conditions Governing Access
Normal 30 year and 75 year closures apply
Lanarkshire Health Board
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Compiled by Alistair Tough, Greater Glasgow NHS Board Archivist, 23 July 1998
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 812 procedures
Records held within National Health Service prior to transfer