Parish records of Foston

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1588-1640, 1652-1892; register of marriages, 1588-1640, 1654-1962; register of burials, 1588-1640, 1653-1966; register of banns, 1869-1937; register of services, 1932-1969; records concerning benefice income, including tithe papers, 1843, 1850, 1912-1924, glebe map, 1855, glebe papers, 1835, 1848, 1899, and papers 1843, 1875, 1880, 1940-1963; charity records, including accounts, 1677-1877; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1789-1878, 1880-1897, 1914-1918, 1956-1958, assessments, 1698, 1836, 1846-1878, fabric papers, 1925-1966, and churchyard papers, 1955-1961; records of incumbents, including parsonage house papers, 1813, 1825, 1920, Goole/Hook parsonage site plan, 19th century, and statistical returns, 1966; overseers’ records, including accounts of poor money for Foston, 1677-1745, 1759-1772, and for Foston with Thornton and Flaxton, 1796-1870, 1876-1938; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including correspondence regarding sale of Thornton le Clay mission room, 1931-1932; school records, including accounts, 1859-1870, 1873-1890, 1892-1902, 1905, 1941, 1948, 1967, log books, 1863-1900, correspondence and papers, 1833-1854. 1903, 1959, 1964, and Sunday School books buyers, 1956-1957; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1903-1922, 1968-1993, minutes of meetings and visitors book, 1894-1932, 1966-2004, draft accounts, 1964-1966, Thornton le Clay enclosure award, 1778, and map of township, c.1814;

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Foston was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson was granted to St Mary’s Abbey, York, at an early date, and they retained it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed to the Crown. In 1898 the advowson was transferred to the see of York.
The parish church is dedicated to All Saints and dates from the first half of the twelfth century, with further additions made in the thirteenth. It was restored and expanded in 1911.
The parish historically included Flaxton and Thornton le Clay. A chapel of ease existed at Thornton in the sixteenth and seventeenth century, dedicated to St Mary, but has since been lost. In 1861 Flaxton separated from Foston to form a new parish, which included parts of neighbouring Bossall.
Today Foston, which still includes Thornton le Clay, is one of eight parishes within the united benefice of Harton.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1999, 2004 and at a later date.

Note

The existence of a church at Foston was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson was granted to St Mary’s Abbey, York, at an early date, and they retained it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed to the Crown. In 1898 the advowson was transferred to the see of York.
The parish church is dedicated to All Saints and dates from the first half of the twelfth century, with further additions made in the thirteenth. It was restored and expanded in 1911.
The parish historically included Flaxton and Thornton le Clay. A chapel of ease existed at Thornton in the sixteenth and seventeenth century, dedicated to St Mary, but has since been lost. In 1861 Flaxton separated from Foston to form a new parish, which included parts of neighbouring Bossall.
Today Foston, which still includes Thornton le Clay, is one of eight parishes within the united benefice of Harton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2004 and includes one additional item that was deposited after 2004, although the exact date is unknown.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages, and burials, 1588-1885, and banns, 1869-1900, for Foston and Thornton le Clay are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 686, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 10.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For Flaxton baptisms, marriages, burials and other parish records after 1861, see the parish records of Flaxton.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193