Manuscript copies of verses and original compositions for Royal Holloway College poems, 1905-8; notes on mathematical subjects. Three group photographs: one possibly of aero-engineering students, c.1920; a summer school for engineering teachers, New College, Oxford, 1936; and of University College, Southampton, staff and students, 1925. Additions and corrections by Miss A.M.Trout to the obituary of Freda Mary Loader, a lecturer of biology, in the University of Southampton Society Bulletin, 1969. Sketch books and postcard albums collected by Miss Trout: two pen and ink sketches by R.Casson; two pencil portraits by W.H.Cubley and a number of other sketches, prints and drawings of church architecture by the same artist; a pencil drawing of architectural detail 'an original sketch of Watejko', 1919; and a watercolour sketch of Keswick by J.Simnell, 1812. Six photograph albums; stereoscopic photographs; photographs of church architecture and of mass clocks by Dr A.R.Green; photographs of church architecture; and two photoprints of pictures hung in the 'Pictures from Hampshire houses' exhibition, 1955. Catalogues for the books of the University College, Southampton, Architectural Society and of records of the Gramophone Society, together with minutes, accounts and lists of members, 1925-32. Notes on local history, including transcript of the early pipe rolls of the Bishopric of Winchester for Twyford and a transcript of the first volume of the Book of the Common Seal of Winchester Cathedral Priory; and copies of articles by Dr A.R.Green. Manuscript recipe book, mid-19th century
Papers of Miss A.M.Trout
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 738 MS 112
- Dates of Creation1812-1969
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description13 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Annie Mary Trout was a lecturer in mathematics at University College, Southampton. She attended Royal Holloway College, London, obtaining a BA in 1907, and received a University of Cambridge Certificate of Efficiency in Teaching in 1908.
The Special Collections Division is available for anyone to use, regardless of whether you are attached to an academic institution. Access to the Archives and Manuscripts and Rare Books reading room, however, is by prior appointment to access the manuscript material. See our website for more details.