Cefnhirfach Elementary School for both boys and girls aged 5-14 was officially opened on the 4th July 1880. Board Schools were established during the 1870s following the 1870 Elementary Education Act and were often known as "Council Schools".
Plans had been drawn up by Gilbert D Wiles (County Architect) and tenders placed before the School Board on the 26th July 1878 when building had commenced. The first pupils were enrolled on the 5th July 1880.
Photographs of the building taken in 2011 show that it was never enlarged or the layout changed. The school closed on the 19th July 1966.
This collection includes log books, admission and attendance registers and accounts.
Location of original school
Street name- N/A
Post Code SY10 0DY
B4580 1.5 miles NE of Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant
25 inch O.S. Maps (1899 - 1912) Cefnhirfach School is on sheet 43-4.