Parish records of Helperthorpe

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1733-1917; register of marriages, 1733-1835, 1837-1977, 1980-2002; register of banns, 1831-1947; register of services, 1896-1975; churchwardens’ records, including fabric correspondence and papers, 1939-1959, and accounts, 1819-1925, 1946-1952; records of incumbents, including statistical returns, 1924-1928; parish magazines, 1924-1999.

Administrative / Biographical History

Helperthorpe was originally a chapelry annexed to the nearby parish of Weaverthorpe but was later appropriated to the Dean and Chapter of York and a vicarage ordained therein in 1282. The parish remained subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until the nineteenth century. Burials continued to take place at Weaverthorpe.

In 1856 Luttons Ambo was transferred from Weaverthorpe parish to Helperthorpe, and in 1873 the larger parish of Helperthorpe cum Luttons Ambo was granted to Sir Tatton Sykes, 5th Baronet, by the Dean and Chapter of York in exchange for Bishop Wilton.

Sykes funded the building of the new parish church of St Peter in 1875, replacing a sixteenth century structure. The new church was designed by architect George Edmund Street, with additions by Temple Moore. It was restored in 1998. The vicarage house was built in 1876.

In 1924 the benefices of Helperthorpe and Weaverthorpe were united. Today the parish of Helperthorpe forms part of the united benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe, Luttons Ambo, Kirby Grindalythe and Wharram le Street

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 2000 and 2006.

Note

Helperthorpe was originally a chapelry annexed to the nearby parish of Weaverthorpe but was later appropriated to the Dean and Chapter of York and a vicarage ordained therein in 1282. The parish remained subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until the nineteenth century. Burials continued to take place at Weaverthorpe.

In 1856 Luttons Ambo was transferred from Weaverthorpe parish to Helperthorpe, and in 1873 the larger parish of Helperthorpe cum Luttons Ambo was granted to Sir Tatton Sykes, 5th Baronet, by the Dean and Chapter of York in exchange for Bishop Wilton.

Sykes funded the building of the new parish church of St Peter in 1875, replacing a sixteenth century structure. The new church was designed by architect George Edmund Street, with additions by Temple Moore. It was restored in 1998. The vicarage house was built in 1876.

In 1924 the benefices of Helperthorpe and Weaverthorpe were united. Today the parish of Helperthorpe forms part of the united benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe, Luttons Ambo, Kirby Grindalythe and Wharram le Street

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2006.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1733-1885, marriages, 1733-1885, and banns, 1831-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 700, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193