Narberth Poor Law Union Records

Scope and Content

Records of the Narberth Poor Law Union, 1837-1929; deeds, 1838-1840, minute books, 1837-1948; letter books, 1869-1923; report books, 1914-1934; ledgers, 1898-1931; rate books, 1910-1915; cash books, 1917-1942; relief order books, 1918-1939; and miscellaneous papers, 1845-1927.

Administrative / Biographical History

Narberth Poor Law Union was formed in 1837, comprising 46 constituent parishes, in Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire. The Poor Law Union was administered by Boards of Guardians and (latterly) the Guardians Committee of the Public Assistance Committee of Pembrokeshire County Council. The Board of Guardians were elected by local landowners and rate-payers. The Union's workhouse was built 1837-1838 at Narberth Mountain, south of Narberth. After the Local Government Act 1929, unions were abolished and their duties transferred to County Councils.


Arranged into the following: deeds; minute books; letter books; report books; ledgers; rate books; cash books; relief order books; and miscellaneous.

Access Information

The relief order books are restricted for 100 years.

Acquisition Information

Transferred from the Welfare Department.


Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Narberth Poor Law Union, catalogue; Oxford University website (, viewed 13 May 2005.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Custodial History

The records were transferred to Pembrokeshire County Council, and were held by the Welfare Department.


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further records are, Pembrokeshire Record Office, HDX/538.

Geographical Names