Parish records of Bossall

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1611-1681, 1695-1925 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1801-1812); register of marriages, 1613-1683, 1695-1834, 1837-1996; register of burials, 1613-1684, 1695-1911 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1801-1812); register of banns, 1809-1812, 1823-1977; register of services, 1915-1989; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1915-1935, tithe papers, 1838-1841, and papers concerning the sale of the vicarage farm, 1920; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1738-1979, and fabric papers, 1904-1946, 1996; records of incumbents, including parsonage house papers, 1915-1920, 1953-1954; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1903-1969, accounts, 1916-1961, log book, 1904-1928, and Sunday School accounts, 1918-1932; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including accounts, 1915-1952, notes on Flaxton enclosure, 1658, and minutes of meetings, 1877-1984.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Bossall was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although its foundation is believed to date to the time of Bosa, the seventh century Archbishop of York who gave the village its name. The present parish church is dedicated to St Botolph and dates from the late twelfth century.

A vicarage was ordained at Bossall in 1229. The rectory and advowson of the church initially descended with the manor of Bossall but by 1378 it had passed to the Nevill family. At some point between 1378 and 1386 it was alienated to Durham Priory by John Nevill for the maintenance of Durham College, Oxford. The advowson was fully appropriated to the college c.1404, and the college retained it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it was granted by the King to the Dean and Chapter of Durham.

The parish historically included Aldby Park, Barnby, Buttercrambe, Claxton, Flaxton, Harton, Lobster House and Sand Hutton. A chapel of ease was created at Buttercrambe in the thirteenth century, although the present church of St John the Evangelist dates from the fifteenth. The parish also now includes a chapelry at Howsham.

In 1861 parts of the parish were separated to form the new parishes of Sand Hutton with Claxton and of Flaxton. Today the parish of Bossall with Buttercrambe and Howsham is one of eight parishes within the united benefice of Harton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1972 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1975, 1982, 1983, 1994, 1995 and 2012.

Note

The existence of a church at Bossall was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although its foundation is believed to date to the time of Bosa, the seventh century Archbishop of York who gave the village its name. The present parish church is dedicated to St Botolph and dates from the late twelfth century.

A vicarage was ordained at Bossall in 1229. The rectory and advowson of the church initially descended with the manor of Bossall but by 1378 it had passed to the Nevill family. At some point between 1378 and 1386 it was alienated to Durham Priory by John Nevill for the maintenance of Durham College, Oxford. The advowson was fully appropriated to the college c.1404, and the college retained it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it was granted by the King to the Dean and Chapter of Durham.

The parish historically included Aldby Park, Barnby, Buttercrambe, Claxton, Flaxton, Harton, Lobster House and Sand Hutton. A chapel of ease was created at Buttercrambe in the thirteenth century, although the present church of St John the Evangelist dates from the fifteenth. The parish also now includes a chapelry at Howsham.

In 1861 parts of the parish were separated to form the new parishes of Sand Hutton with Claxton and of Flaxton. Today the parish of Bossall with Buttercrambe and Howsham is one of eight parishes within the united benefice of Harton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1995. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1611-1925, marriages, 1613-1911, burials, 1613-1972, and banns, 1809-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 645, 1595, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 17.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of Buttercrambe which include some Bossall baptisms, marriages and burials, 1654-1672.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193