Parish records of Tadcaster

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1570-1624, 1653-2006 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages, 1570-1624, 1653-2014; register of burials, 1570-1624, 1653-1932 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1852-2004; register of services, 1893-2012; register of strange preachers, 1863-1902; returns of church members, 1980; records concerning benefice income, including tithe papers, 1899-1933, and glebe papers, 1911; charity records, including accounts, with minutes of meetings and appointments of new trustees, 1867-1974, and Jackson’s Charity account book, 1952-1973; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1779-1938, fabric papers, 1914-1990, visitors' books, 1939-1947, 1998-2012 and Stutton accounts, 1923-1966; records of incumbents, including Christian Stewardship correspondence and accounts, 1961-1978, dilapidations correspondence, 1944-1974, and statistical returns, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1968, 1970, 1973; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Church Youth Fellowship minutes of meetings, 1962-1969, attendances, 1962-1965, and cash books, 1962-1965; school records, including Sunday School minutes, 1987-1990, accounts, 1946-1961, 1983-1986, correspondence, 1986-1990, papers, 1893, 1915, 1947, 1972-1987, historical notes, 20th century, and photographs, n.d; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1785-1972, 1974-1975, Standing Committee minutes, 1978-1985, Memorial Sub Committee minutes, 1979, Finance Committee minutes, 1982, accounts, 1930-1978, electoral roll, 1960s-1970s, magazines, 1892-2006 [with gaps], and correspondence, 1967-1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Tadcaster from at least the twelfth century when it was given by the Percy family to Sawley Abbey, together with a chapel at Hazlewood. A vicarage was ordained there c.1290. The abbey held the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries, when its estates, including Tadcaster Church, were granted to Sir Arthur Darcy. By the 1820s the patronage was in the hands of the Earl of Egremont and by 1855 it was held by Colonel Wyndham. Since 1934 it has been held by the Archbishop of York.

The original parish church was burned by the Scots in 1314 and rebuilt as the present church of St Mary. The tower was added in the fifteenth century. The entire building, excepting only the tower, was taken down and rebuilt in 1877 to the design of architect Edward Birchall of Leeds. The north aisle was extended and the vestries enlarged in 1897, and the church was extensively repaired in the 1950s.

The parish vicarage originally stood between Kirkgate and Chapel Street. It was used as a school for a short time in the nineteenth century, before it was renovated in 1891 and once again used as a vicarage. In 1938 it was replaced by a larger building in Station Road, Highfield, and in 1964 this was in turn replaced by the present building, also in Highfield.

The parish includes Hazlewood and Stutton. A wooden mission church was built at Stutton at the end of the nineteenth century and sold in 2014. There was also a chapel of ease at Hazlewood from the twelfth century.

The parish is notable for its early Sunday School, established in 1788.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1970 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1984, 1985, 1993, 1996, 2005, 2006, 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Note

There was a church at Tadcaster from at least the twelfth century when it was given by the Percy family to Sawley Abbey, together with a chapel at Hazlewood. A vicarage was ordained there c.1290. The abbey held the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries, when its estates, including Tadcaster Church, were granted to Sir Arthur Darcy. By the 1820s the patronage was in the hands of the Earl of Egremont and by 1855 it was held by Colonel Wyndham. Since 1934 it has been held by the Archbishop of York.

The original parish church was burned by the Scots in 1314 and rebuilt as the present church of St Mary. The tower was added in the fifteenth century. The entire building, excepting only the tower, was taken down and rebuilt in 1877 to the design of architect Edward Birchall of Leeds. The north aisle was extended and the vestries enlarged in 1897, and the church was extensively repaired in the 1950s.

The parish vicarage originally stood between Kirkgate and Chapel Street. It was used as a school for a short time in the nineteenth century, before it was renovated in 1891 and once again used as a vicarage. In 1938 it was replaced by a larger building in Station Road, Highfield, and in 1964 this was in turn replaced by the present building, also in Highfield.

The parish includes Hazlewood and Stutton. A wooden mission church was built at Stutton at the end of the nineteenth century and sold in 2014. There was also a chapel of ease at Hazlewood from the twelfth century.

The parish is notable for its early Sunday School, established in 1788.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1570-1900, banns, 1852-1900, and churchwardens' accounts, 1779-1881, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 793-795, 1756, 1777).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 15.03.16.

Revised by S. Kent, September 2016.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Stutton are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193