OXFORD UNIVERSITY CRICKET CLUB

Scope and Content

The Oxford University Cricket Club was originally formed from two clubs; Magdalen Cricket Club and Bullingdon Green Cricket Club. Matches were originally played at the Magdalen Ground on Cowley Marsh, until they moved to the University Parks in May 1881. The University played in the first ever 1st Class match against Cambridge University in 1827 which became the annual varsity fixture in 1838.

The records contain financial papers relating to the Magdalen Cricket Club, and correspondence and accounts of The Oxford University Cricket Club. There are also maps, plans and correspondence relating to the move to the University Parks and the extension of the cricket ground and pavilion.

The records were deposited by Brasenose College in February 1994 as Acc 3782 and catalogued by Alison Smith in August 2008.

Access Information

Open