Jordanhill College of Education: Estates Management, Buildings

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Papers relating to the Dundas Vale Building, 1921; Stow Building: Cowcaddens Street, 1921; Jordanhill site, 1911-1947; Building construction on Jordanhill Site, c 1914-1918; Main Building (later named David Stow Building) and campus, c 1921-1991; Hostel building, 1911-1962; Demonstration School Building (Jordanhill College School), 1914-1917; Kerr Building, 1972; Glasgow School of Speech Therapy, 1955; Refectory Building, 1960s; Crawfurd Building, 1963-1970s; Smith Building, 1970s-1990; Scottish School of Physical Education Building, 1966-1970; School of Further Education Building, 1968-1973; Sir Henry Wood Building, 1967-1974; Proposed AV Resource and Printing Centre, 1978-1982; and Arts Building (later named Tom Bone Building), 1992.

JCE/7 Summary of Records

Administrative / Biographical History

Jordanhill College of Education, Glasgow (now the Faculty of Education in the University of Strathclyde) had its origins in the transfer of the responsibility for education from church to secular bodies. Under the Education (Scotland) Act 1872 (35 & 36 Vict., c. 62) the control of schools in Scotland was passed from heritors and kirk sessions to local school boards, but churches continued to be responsible for teacher training colleges. By the early 20th century, however, this was an increasing financial burden for religious bodies and negotiations began to transfer the training colleges to secular control.

Conditions Governing Access


Other Finding Aids

Web based catalogue on this Web site; paper-based catalogue to item level available at Jordanhill Library.

Archivist's Note

Archivist's note: Description prepared by Margaret Harrison, Web version by Graham S. Holton, Jordanhill LibraryRules or Conventions: Description based on Scottish Archive Network guidelines, based on ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description, International Council on Archives (2nd edition, 2000). and Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names, National Council on Archives (1997)Date of descriptions: September 2004