Bro Goronwy Literary Society Records

Scope and Content

The collection consists of a series of minute books, 1901 - 1950, some of which contain newspaper cuttings regarding various meetings held by the society. Also programmes, 1901 - 1939 and a bank book, 1927 - 1951.

Administrative / Biographical History

The first committee meeting of the Bro Goronwy Literary Society, Llanfair Mathafarn Eithaf, Anglesey was held on 19 November 1901. Originally, the society was known as Cymdeithas Ddadleuol Ty'nygongl, but the name was changed in 1904 to Cymdeithas Lenyddol Bro Goronwy. Amongst its presidents were Ellis J. Griffith M.P., Sir John Morris-Jones, Thomas Shankland and Megan Lloyd George. According to the society rules, members had to be 14 years old or over and meetings were held every Friday evening at 7.00 during the season. The main debators were allowed 15 minutes to present their topic, whilst their supporters were allowed 10 minutes each.


The collection has been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts, arranged according to record type and then chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Acquisition Information

Donated by Mrs R.O. Mathews, Lleiniau Llwydion, Tynygongl, Anglesey.


Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, October 2001

Other Finding Aids

An item level catalogue is available at the Department of Manuscripts of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 13978 - 13984

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

A Bro Goronwy Literary Society programme, 1977 - 1978 and an invitation to the society's annual dinner, 10 March 1978 can also be found amongst the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 27488 - 27489