Family and estate papers of the Gwynne and Peel families of Taliaris, in the parish of Llandeilo Fawr, Carmarthenshire, comprising deeds, 1656-[c. 1958], rentals and estate accounts, 1785-1961, and wills, correspondence, vouchers, receipts, diaries, journals, portrait albums, painting and sketch books, military and personal photographs, and maps, [ c. 1715]-[c. 1958]; papers relating to the Peel family of Lancashire and elsewhere, [c. 1800]-[c. 1850], and papers relating to the Danyrallt estate, Llangadog, Carmarthenshire, [c. 1833]-[c. 1904].
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 TALIARIS
- Dates of Creation1656, 1712-[c. 1961]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.98 cubic metres (74 boxes, 38 vols)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Gwynne family, the first family to be established at Taliaris, Carmarthenshire, were descended from a natural son of Sir Rhys ap Thomas of Dinefwr (d. 1525). This family failed with David Gwynne (d. c. 1721), after which the estate passed to his relative, Richard Jones of Tre-gib, Carmarthenshire. who changed his surname to Gwynne (d. pre-1753). After the death of his son, David Jones Gwynne in 1775 the Taliaris estate was offered for sale by order of Chancery in 1785, and was sold in 1787 to Lord Robert Seymour (d. 1831). The Gwynne family itself remained at Tre-gib until it was bought by the Carmarthenshire Education Authority in 1964. Shortly after the death of Lord Robert Seymour, his widow sold the Taliaris estate to Robert Peel, a Lancashire businessman, and first cousin to Sir Robert Peel. The estate continued in the Peel family until 1954, when most of the estate was sold. The mansion was sold to the Rev. Max Williams in 1967. The Danyrallt estate, originally known as Llwyn y Berllan or Dirleton, was purchased by John Peel in 1881. It was he who renamed the estate Danyrallt. The Danyrallt mansion was accidentally burnt down during the Second World War.
Arranged into the following sections: deeds and documents; rentals and estate accounts; and maps, plans, drawings and photographs.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mrs F. V. Peel in July 1967.
Compiled by Stephen Benham for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following source was used in the compilation of this record: Jones, Francis, Historic Carmarthenshire Homes and their Families (Newport, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Carmarthen Archive Service, National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Alternative Form Available
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archive Service have been retained
Acruals are not expected