- Memorandum and Articles of Association 1947;
- Directors' annual reports and accounts to shareholders 1963-1968;
- Title Deeds 1956, 1964.
Records of Inns & Hotels (Scotland) Ltd, licensed premises, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 IHS
- Dates of Creation1947-1968
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.05 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Inns & Hotels (Scotland) Ltd (registered office: 6 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh, Scotland) was a private company formed on 12 April 1947 , by Robert Shiels and D H Sclater . The company owned and leased to tenants, licensed properties throughout Scotland. By at least 1951 the company was a subsidiary of William Murray & Co Ltd , brewers of Edinburgh, and may have been from the outset of the company's birth. The company's assets were transferred to United Caledonian Breweries Ltd on 1 January 1963, and Inns and Hotels (Scotland) Ltd ceased trading, although directors reports and annual accounts were produced for a further 5 years.
Source: Potter, John G , The Manual of British and Foreign Brewery Companies (The Brewery Manual) 1951-1952 ( London: Norlands, 1952 )
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Scottish Brewing Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), October 30 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 12 February 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 19 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.