- MS 101/57 Letter to William Speirs Bruce, 17 February 1912 [Regarding fish collection on the Scottish National Antarctic Expedition, 1902-1904] 1 leaf, holograph
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 15 Einar Longberg/Correspondence
- Dates of Creation17 February 1912
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical DescriptionLetter
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Scottish National Antarctic Expedition, 1902-1904 (leader William Speirs Bruce) undertook exploration of the Weddell Sea. To the west of Queen Maud Land the expedition discovered Coats Land, which was named for James Coats Jr and Major Andrew Coats who had supported the expedition.
A meteorological observatory (Omond House) was established on Laurie Island, South Orkney Islands which was later transferred to the Argentine government who continue to run it to this day. (Laurie Island is now the oldest continuously operational observatory in the region.)
The expedition conducted a comprehensive scientific program, plans were made to search for the missing Swedish South Polar Expedition, 1901-1903 (leader Nils Otto Nordenskjld) but were set aside when news of their rescue by the Argentine naval ship Uruguay arrived.