Papers relating to William John Percy Player, 1902-1974, including probate and related papers, 1946-1955; records of William Player and Sons Ltd, 1917-1925; papers relating to the Clydach Boys' Club, 1938-1946; correspondence relating to the estate of William Player, 1902-1974; papers relating to Gladys Harward Player, 1947.
William John Percy Player Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William John Percy Player (d.1946) was a businessman who lived in Clydach, Glamorgan. He was one of the trustees of the Ynystawe Estate, the property of Joseph Martin. William Player was married to Gladys Harward and owned John Player and Sons Ltd, tinplate manufacturers. The Clydach Boy's Club was set up through the interests of William Player in 1937 and was closed in 1946. It was based in the Cloth Hall in Hebron Road, Clydach.
Arranged into the following: Probate records and resulting legal opinions; John Player and Sons Ltd; Clydach Boy's Club; Miscellaneous correspondence relating to the estate of W. J. P. Player, deceased; Estate of Mrs Gladys Harward Player, deceased; Estate of William Martin, deceased; Estate of Talfourd Strick, deceased; Cwmllynfel Anthracite Company Ltd.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Estate and Business records of William John Percy Player of Wernfadog, Clydach, esq., catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected