Register of Staff attending fire drills, 1956-1967
Lady Aberdare Maternity Hospital, Mountain Ash, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Lady Aberdare Maternity Hospital was opened as a Cottage Hospital in 1896. It was presented as a gift from Constance, the second Lady Aberdare and built mainly for colliery casualties. The hospital was sited at Granville Terrace and was supported by miners by means of a six penny levy on their pay in addition to subscriptions from other bodies and individuals. In 1922 Lady Aberdare leased the premises to the trustees of the Mountain Ash General Hospital which was then being built for the three years while it was under construction. In 1925 Lady Aberdare leased the Hospital to the District Council for 14 years at 1 shilling per annum. The General Hospital was then completed and the Lady Aberdare Hospital became the first maternity hospital in Mountain Ash. The Hospital closed in 1968 upon the opening of the maternity unit at Aberdare General Hospital.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Major Projects, Cwm Taf Health Board. Record collected from Ysbyty Cwm Cynon, New Road, Mountain Ash
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Alternative Form Available
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to 'The Leader' newspaper dated 17 Oct 1968
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are possible
Location of Originals