Llwchwr Urban District Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Llangyfelach Rural District Council, Swansea Rural District Council, Llwchwr Urban District Council and (before 1894) Swansea Union Rural Sanitary Authority, 1853-1983, comprising Clerks' records, 1853-1974, including Council and committee minutes, 1888-1974, declarations of acceptance of office, 1894-1972, notices of motions, 1895-1913, yearbooks and diaries, 1939-1973, registers, 1905-1974, deeds relating to Loughor, 1853, 1892, reports, 1915-1970, correspondence, 1947-1964, and maps and plans, 1910-[post 1966]; Treasurers' records, 1885-1978, including rate books, 1885-1919, ledgers, 1898-1974, abstracts of accounts, 1965-1974, estimates, 1968-1978, and Local Government Superannuation Scheme registers, 1938-1959; Public Health Department registers, 1934-1983; Planning Department registers, 1886-1938.

Administrative / Biographical History

Llangyfelach Rural District Council (RDC), Glamorgan, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894, superseding Swansea Union Rural Sanitary Authority. It comprised the parishes of Clase, Gowerton, Llandeilo Talybont, Llansamlet, Loughor, Penderry and Cockett. In November 1902 it was renamed Swansea Rural District Council. In 1918 parts of the district were lost to the County Borough of Swansea. In 1930 the remainder, comprising the parishes of Loughor, Gowerton, Llandeilo Talybont and Llangyfelach, became Llwchwr Urban District Council (UDC). The Councils comprised councillors and a chairman and initially took over the powers of the Local Board of Health. The Councils' responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, cemeteries, libraries, parks, controls on buildings such as petrol stations, and licensing of public entertainments. RDCs and UDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor and Sanitary Inspector. Llwchwr UDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganization, becoming part of the Borough of Lliw Valley.


Arranged into the following: Swansea Rural District Council, Llangyfelach Rural District Council, Swansea Rural District Council and Llwchwr Urban District Council; Llwchwr Urban District Council.

Access Information

Items under 100 years old containing sensitive information on named individuals may be restricted under the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Llangyfelach Rural District Council, Swansea Rural District Council and Llwchwr Urban District Council, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archives Service: A Guide to the Collections (Swansea, 1998); A Vision of Britain Through Time website (www.visionofbritain.org.uk), viewed 30 August 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further records are in West Glamorgan Archive Service, D117 and RD/S.

Geographical Names