Parish records of Thorganby

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1885 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1792-1812); register of marriages, 1653-1835, 1837-2003; register of burials, 1653-1957 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1792-1812); register of services, 1880-1887, 1901-1929, 1939-1999; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1707-1755, 1759-1818, 1826-1862, fabric papers, 1874, 1929-1961, terrier and inventory, 1969-2007, visitors' book, 1954-1975, churchyard papers, 1897, 1959, West Cottingwith accounts, 1715-1761, 1769-1806, restoration fund entertainments committee minutes of meetings, 1950-1955, and restoration correspondence, 1950-1953; constables’ records, including accounts, 1706-1756, 1758-1816, and West Cottingwith accounts, 1709-1761, 1777-1807, 1846-1864; records of incumbents, including 'The People's Declaration' signatories, 1964, dilapidations papers, 1936-1967, parsonage house papers, 1926, and papers relating to Canon Percival Hedley, 1963-1972; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1718-1771, 1825-1871, and survey of poor's lands, 1729; school records, including log books, 1871-1926, and papers concerning school closure, 1977-1989; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1833-1864, and West Cottingwith accounts, 1720-1754, 1856-1858; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1836-1846, 1964-1993, accounts, 1955-1994 [with gaps], magazine accounts, 1956-1983, general ledger, 1936-1963, and electoral roll, 1966-1972.

Administrative / Biographical History

The earliest reference to a church at Thorganby was in 1228 when Robert de Meynell claimed the advowson. By 1312 it was regarded as a chapelry of Aughton parish and was appropriated, together with Aughton Church, to the priory of Ellerton by 1351. It was held by the Priory until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, after which it treated as a separate curacy and then described as a vicarage after 1872. From 1872 the patronage was held by the Dunnington-Jefferson family. The benefice was augmented in 1799 and 1817. In 1967 it was united with that of Skipwith.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Helen, dates in part to the fourteenth and fifteenth century. The nave and porch were rebuilt in 1710 and the chancel was rebuilt in 1719. The church was restored and redecorated in 1948. The churchyard was extended in 1897 and 1966. The church includes a 1979 monument to John Dunnington-Jefferson, carved by Dick Reid, and the churchyard includes a 1970 ledger stone to Canon Hedley, designed by George Pace.

There was a ‘priest house’ at Thorganby by the late sixteenth century, which may have served as a vicarage. The curate lived in the village schoolhouse in the eighteenth century, and then at a new parsonage house from 1835. From 1880 the vicar lived at Thorganby House, and then at Hedley House from 1926 to 1967. Since then, the vicar has lived at Skipwith.

The parish includes the township of West Cottingwith. Today Thorganby is part of the benefice of Derwent Ings, which also includes East Cottingwith, Elvington, Sutton upon Derwent and Wheldrake.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1974, 1980, 1983, 2002 and 2009.

Note

The earliest reference to a church at Thorganby was in 1228 when Robert de Meynell claimed the advowson. By 1312 it was regarded as a chapelry of Aughton parish and was appropriated, together with Aughton Church, to the priory of Ellerton by 1351. It was held by the Priory until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, after which it treated as a separate curacy and then described as a vicarage after 1872. From 1872 the patronage was held by the Dunnington-Jefferson family. The benefice was augmented in 1799 and 1817. In 1967 it was united with that of Skipwith.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Helen, dates in part to the fourteenth and fifteenth century. The nave and porch were rebuilt in 1710 and the chancel was rebuilt in 1719. The church was restored and redecorated in 1948. The churchyard was extended in 1897 and 1966. The church includes a 1979 monument to John Dunnington-Jefferson, carved by Dick Reid, and the churchyard includes a 1970 ledger stone to Canon Hedley, designed by George Pace.

There was a ‘priest house’ at Thorganby by the late sixteenth century, which may have served as a vicarage. The curate lived in the village schoolhouse in the eighteenth century, and then at a new parsonage house from 1835. From 1880 the vicar lived at Thorganby House, and then at Hedley House from 1926 to 1967. Since then, the vicar has lived at Skipwith.

The parish includes the township of West Cottingwith. Today Thorganby is part of the benefice of Derwent Ings, which also includes East Cottingwith, Elvington, Sutton upon Derwent and Wheldrake.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1653-1885, are available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 798).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 14.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

A collection of civil parish records of Thorganby with West Cottingwith is deposited in the Humberside County Record Office, Beverley.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193