Barnes County Secondary Girls' School (formerly Barnes Central Girls' School)

Scope and Content

Administrative records for Barnes County Secondary Girls' School, and its predecessor school, Barnes Central Girls' School.

Administrative / Biographical History

Barnes Central Girls' School opened in January 1921 as a non-selective Central School. It moved to Lonsdale Road, Barnes in 1931, to the same site as Barnes Central Boys' School (ref: S12). The schools ceased to be central schools in 1945, and became Barnes County Secondary Boys' School and Barnes County Secondary Girls' School. Both schools closed in July 1969, and re-opened as a secondary mixed school known as Barnes County Secondary School (ref: S14) in September 1969.

Arrangement

Barnes Central Boys' School (ref: S12) opened in January 1921 at Lonsdale Road, Barnes. Barnes Central School for Girls moved to the same site in January 1931, but each school had its own staff and administration, and separate accommodation on the same site, so the records of the Boys' and Girls' Schools have been catalogued separately. When Barnes Central Girls' School ceased to be selective in 1945, and became known as Barnes County Secondary Girls' School, the administrative functions continued, with the records of Barnes Central Girls' School remaining in use. The records of Barnes County Secondary Girls' School and Barnes Central Girls' School have therefore been catalogued together. When the school closed in July 1967, all the administrative functions of the single sex girls' school ceased, so the new mixed school which opened in September 1967, Barnes County Secondary School, has been catalogued separately (ref: S14).



The Barnes County Secondary Girls' School Collection is arranged into 3 series records:

  • S13/1 Admissions registers, 1927-1969
  • S13/2 Log Books, 1921-1969
  • S13/3 Admissions register indexes, 1927-1945

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

The following are located at The National Archives: Department of Education and Science: Secondary Schools Digest Files, 1900-1959, ref: ED 162/1956 Ministry of Education: Public Elementary School Files, 1936-1939, ref: ED 21/61580 Board of Education and Successors: HM Inspectorate: Reports on Secondary Institutions, 1947-1956, ref: ED 109/9106/2 Correspondence relating to the school 1928-1933 is located at Surrey History Centre, ref: CC120/264