- Memorandum and articles of association 1959;
- Amalgamation papers 1959;
- Minutes of directors 1941-1964;
- Minutes of members' meetings 1897-1965;
- Directors annual reports and accounts to shareholders 1913-1951;
- Financial Records 1956-1961;
- Sales Records 1917;
- Property Records c20th century;
- Promotional Material c1909-1961;
- Photographs 1920s -1980s;
- Family Papers 1981.
Records of Robert Deuchar Ltd, brewers, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 RD
- Dates of Creation1897-1980s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.21 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Arnison Simson operated the Sandyford Brewery , Sandyford, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Tyne & Wear, England , prior to 1887 when it was acquired by Robert Deuchar . Robert Deuchar Ltd was registered as a limited liability company in August 1897 to acquire the business. The company acquired Pattisons Ltd , Duddingston Brewery , Edinburgh, Scotland, and Simson & McPherson Ltd , St Mary's Brewery , Canongate, Edinburgh , in 1900. The St Mary's Brewery closed in 1901 but continued to be used as maltings until 1967. Robert Deuchar Ltd was acquired by Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd , brewers in Edinburgh, in 1941. The Sandyford Brewery ceased to brew in 1941 being used as a store in the 1940s and 1950s. The Duddingston Brewery, along with 360 tied houses, was taken over by Newcastle Breweries Ltd , Newcastle-upon-Tyne, in 1954. Brewing ceased in 1961, although the maltings continued to be used until about 1970.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Academic and personal research only, subject to the Data Protection Act 1998.
Scottish & Newcastle plc and various collectors
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Scottish Brewing Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 29 October 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 04 February 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 12 December 2008, and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.