Parish records of Huggate

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1539-1627, 1633-1703, 1708-1787, 1789-1933; register of marriages, 1539-1627, 1633-1703, 1708-1751, 1755-1981; register of burials, 1539-1627, 1633-1703, 1708-1797, 1799-1914 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1799-1812); register of banns, 1823-1863; register of services, 1873-1979; register of confirmations, 1937-1952; register of graves and plan, 1795-1928; records concerning benefice income, including tithe papers, 1922-1927, glebe papers, 1769, 1920, 1936-1939, 1948, and fee table, 1875; charity records, including accounts 1725-1791, 1905-1928, and deeds, 1726, 1750, 1824; churchwardens’ records, including accounts 1874-1938, 1960-1966, fabric papers, 1779, 1907, 1926, 1930-1940, 1945, 1953, 1963-1970, and churchyard deed, 1886; records of incumbents, including sermon notes, c.1895, dilapidations papers, 1886, 1900, 1937, 1947, 1951, parsonage house papers, 1863, 1866, 1936-1937, 1946, and statistical returns, 1931-1940, 1965; overseers’ records, including account of parish contribution to poor house, 1757, and foundation deed of Gilbert Union, 1786; school records, including managers' accounts, 1908-1928, 1952, 1959-1976, Sunday School accounts and register, 1923-1930, and correspondence, 1886-1905; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1875-1898, 1920-1959, accounts, 1942-1979, deed of exchange prior to enclosure, 1772, copy of enclosure award, 1773, list of people dying in first World War, n.d., land tax assessment, 1823, and correspondence, 1960-1982.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Mary at Huggate dates to the twelfth century. It was given to St Mary’s Abbey, York, c.1150 and the abbey held the patronage until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when it passed to the Crown. The church was restored in 1864 and a new rectory house was built in 1936.

Today the parish of Huggate is part of the combined benefice of Pocklington Wold.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute 1966. Further additions were made to the archive in 1970, 1980, 1982 and 1983.

Note

The church of St Mary at Huggate dates to the twelfth century. It was given to St Mary’s Abbey, York, c.1150 and the abbey held the patronage until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when it passed to the Crown. The church was restored in 1864 and a new rectory house was built in 1936.

Today the parish of Huggate is part of the combined benefice of Pocklington Wold.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1983.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages, and burials, 1539-1885, and banns, 1823-1863, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 710, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Parish Register Society, 'The registers of Huggate, Yorkshire. 1539-1812.' Transcribed and edited by Edith Hobday (London, 1901).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193