Parish Registers, Pembrokeshire, 1602-2002, including parish records of the following: Ambleston, 1904-1965; Amroth, 1786-1950; Bosherston, 1813-1985; Boulston, 1786-1923; Brawdy, 1813-1994; Camrose, 1795-1983; Carew, 1718-1974; Castlemartin, 1787-1942; Clarbeston, 1718-1993; Clynderwen, 1946-1974; Cosheston, 1783-1957; Crinow, 1900; Crunwere, 1783-1978; Dale, 1789-1924; Freystrop, 1729-1972; Granston, 1793-1991; Gumfreston, 1647-1974; records relating to Burton Church and N.P. School, 1840-1939; microfilm copies of parish registers at the NLW, [20th century]; Haroldston St Issells, 1813-1990; Haroldston West, 1693-1992; Hasguard, 1813-1969; St Martin's,Haverfordwest, 1721; St Mary's, Haverfordwest, 1602-1974; St Thomas's, Haverfordwest, 1710-1960; Hayscastle, 1837-1992; Henry's Moat, 1755-1837; Herbrandston, 1717-1992; Hodgeston, 1755-1995; Hubberston, 1702-1993; Jeffreston, 1730-1971; Johnston, 1813-1988; Jordanston, 1802-1896; Lambston, 1737-1991; Lampeter Velfrey, 1813-1992; Lamphey, 1776-1997; Llandissilio, 1720-1969; Llanfairnantygof, 1801-1975; Llanfallteg, 1711-1954; Llanfyrnach, 1765-1994; Llangan, 1768-1992; Llangwm, 1716-1973; Llanreithan, 1799-1977; Llanstinan, 1814-1979; Llanwnda, 1777-1975; Loveston, 1777-1977; Maenclochog, 1813-1993; Manorwen, 1779-1993; Marloes, 1749-1966; Martletwy, 1760-1965; Mathry, 1729-1947; Milford Haven, 1808-1968; Minwear, 1753-1975; Monkton, 1748-1988; Morvil, 1814-1978; Mounton, 1940-1955; Mynachlogddu, 1813-1993; Narberth, 1676-1966; Nash with Upton, 1742-1976; New Moat, 1755-1990; Nolton, 1704-1991, Pembroke Dock, 1844-2002; St Mary, Pembroke, Dock, 1844-2002; St Mary, Pembroke, 1711-1970; St Michael, Pembroke, 1822-1977; Penally, 1738-1993; Pontfaen, 1815-1986; Prendergast, 1886-1961; Redberth, 1911-1978; Rhoscrowther, 1856-1993; Robeston Wathen, 1790-1970; Roch, 1677-2000; Rosemarket, 1804-1999; Rudbaxton, 1735-1976; St Brides, 1725-1992; St Dogwells, 1812-1967; St Edrins, 1791-1932; St Elvis, 1817-1898; St Florence, 1763-1994; St Ishmaels, 1761-1975; St Lawrence, 1767-1992; St Nicholas, 1779-1993; Slebech, 1788-1975; Spittal, 1784-1992; Steynton, 1637-1987; Talbenny, 1764-1991; Tenby, 1673-1972; Treffgarne, 1727-1990; Uzmaston, 1720-1990; Walton West, 1763-1992; Warren, 1882-1990; Whitchurch, 1752-1994; Whitchurch, Solva, 1753-1994; Wiston, 1754-1993; and Yerberston, 1813-1976.
Church Parish Registers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1538, the keeping of records by the parish of baptisms, marriages and burials became mandatory in Wales. The responsibility fell on the Anglican minister of the parish. In Pembrokeshire, registers of baptism, marriages and burials survive for about 150 Anglican parishes. In 1837, responisbility for registration passed to the civil authorities. Records continued to be maintained by the parishes, and following the creation of the Church in Wales, the registers were mainly deposited at the National Library of Wales. Some had previously passed into private hands and thence to Pembrokeshire Record Office. In addition to maintaining the registers, the parishes had a role in local government through their Vestry meetings, and were involved in the administration of the Poor Law and rates. They also compiled their own records, including churchwarden's accounts. T he records of the following parishes are deposited at the Pembrokeshire Record Office (some of them are on microfilm): Pembroke Dock, Haverfordwest: St Mary's, Steynton, Johnston, Manorbier, Llangwm, Freystrop, Rudbaxton, St Edrins, Mathry, Granston, St Nicholas, Milford Haven, Cosheston, Nash with Upton, Brawdy, Hayscastle, Llanreithan, St Florence, Redberth, Herbrandston, Hasguard, St Ishmaels, Pembroke St Mary, Haverfordwest: St Martins, Lambston, Llanfairnantygof, Ludchurch, Maenclochog, Slebech, Nolton, Roch, Newport, Spittal, Treffgarne, Narberth, Robeston Wathen, Hubberston, Llysyfran, Mounton, Martletwy, Lawrenni, Newton North, Minwear, Penally, Letterston, St Lawrence, Ford, Ambleston, St Dogwells, Haroldston West, Talbenny, Walton West, Pwllcrochan, Rhoscrowther, Warren, Castlemartin, Llanrhian, Walwyns Castle, New Moat, Haroldston St Issells, Marloes, St Brides, Llanfyrnach, Clynderwen, Llanfallteg, Llangan, Carew, Lamphey, Hodgeston, Prendergast, Uzmaston, Boulston, Loveston, Yerbeston, Lampeter Velfrey, Gumfreston, Tenby, Morfil, Llanychlwydog, Pontfaen, Llandeloy, Haverfordwest: St Thomas, Whitchurch (Solva), St Elvis, Llangolman, Mynachlogddu, Clarbeston, Llanstinan, Manorwen, Llanwnda, Monkton, Rosemarket, Crunwere, Pembroke St Michael, Amroth, Nevern, Llanddewi Velfrey, Camrose, St Petrox, Bosherston, St Twynnells, Stackpole Elider, Burton, Crinow, Llawhaden, Llandissilio, Bayvil, Begelly, Bletherston, Bridell, Capel Colman, Castleblythe, Cilgerran, Cilrhedyn, Clydey, Dale, Dinas, Eglwyswrw, Fishguard, Henry's Moat, Jeffreyston, Jordanston, Little Newcastle, Llandilo, Llanfair Nant Gwyn, Llanfihangel Penbedw, Llanhowel, Llanllawer, Llanstadwell, Llantood, Llan-Y-Cefn, Llanychaer, Manordeifi, Meline, Monington, Moylegrove, Penrith, Puncheston, Reynolston, Robeston West, St Davids, St Dogmaels, St Issells, Walton East, Whitechurch-Eglwyswen, Wiston and Cilgwyn (Nevern).
Arranged in alphabetical order.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by W.S.T. Morgan, The Vicarage, Ambleston between September 1972 and by V. F. Millgate, Manorbier, Tenby, in August 2003.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Church Parish Records, catalogue;.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Alternative Form Available
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected