Box 1: Minutes of Annual General Meetings 1912-1958 and attendance at General meetings 1928-1962. Box 2: Press Cuttings 1901-1907, Miscellaneous catalogues 1900-1978, Collection of National Association of Women Artists Inc. 'Who's who in the exhibition' forms with black and white photographs of sculpture. Box 3: Executive Committee Meetings 1921-1950. Box 4: Printed material and annual reports 1928-1950. Box 5: 'History of the Women's International Art Club' by Anne Bruce (leaflet), copies of newsletters 1970-1973, membership lists 1970-1974, membership list A-Z 1942-1960s, Minutes, constitution and Annual General Meeting minutes 1969-1973 (incomplete, photocopies), list of members in 1900 at the first exhibition held in Paris.
Women's International Art Club (WIAC)
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1086 WIAC
- Dates of Creation1900-1978
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description5 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The idea of a women's art club originated in 1899 with a handful of artists in a Paris studio at a time when most women were unable to take part in professional activities. The object of the club was to enable women of all nationalities to arrange exhibitions of a professional standard. The original title of the club was the Paris Club, this was changed to Women's International Art Club after the first exhibition. Exhibitions were held in a variety of London galleries. In 1947 the annual exhibition was opened by Princess Marina, Duchess of Kent, who became patron of the club the same year. Names of exhibitors include Dame Ethel Walker, Dame Laura Knight, Anne Redpath, Anthea Ailey, Elinor Bellingham-Smith and Sonia Delaunay.
Access for visitors is by appointment only.
Other Finding Aids
List available at the Library (database)
Description by Althea Greenan, MAKE 2002. Submitted to the Archives Hub as part of Genesis 2009 Project.