Victoria Schools, Teddington

Scope and Content

Administrative records for Victoria Schools, Teddington

Administrative / Biographical History

Victoria School, a Junior Mixed Church of England school with 305 children on roll, opened in Princes Road, Teddington, in 1899, with Miss S Foster as headmistress. An infant school was built on the same site, and opened in 1902 with Miss E Freeman as headmistress. According to the Minute Book (ref: S17/2/2) in July 1912, it was 'practically a girls School', and it was agreed to make the upper school fully a girls school in 1913; all the boys were withdrawn in July 1913. By 1957, only 105 girls were on roll, and the school closed in July 1961, with the remaining girls transferring to Rectory School or Kneller Girls' School.

Arrangement

Local Studies only holds two volumes of records for Victoria Schools. The admissions register (Ref: S17/1/1) covers the first two years of the junior mixed school only, which opened in 1899. As there is one minute book (ref: S17/2/2) which covers both the junior mixed school, and the infant school which opened in 1902, the records for both schools have been catalogued together.



The Victoria Schools Collection is arranged into 2 series records:

  • S17/1 Admissions registers, 1899-1901
  • S17/2 Minute Books, 1901-1918

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

The National Archives: Ministry of Education and Predecessors: Public Elementary School Files, 1897-1912, ref: ED 21/12413, 1920-1932, ref: ED 21/35647, 1939, ref: ED 21/57621. Berkshire Record Office: correspondence and personal papers of Miss Bessie Rogers, teacher, ref: D/EX 863.