Lambton & Company Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of Lambton & Company relating to:

  • Establishment (1787-1903): deeds of partnership, correspondence, letter book;
  • Operation (1788-1907): letter books, profit & loss ledgers, partners’ ledgers, yearly and monthly statement ledgers, details of salaries, balance sheets;
  • Amalgamation (1895-1934): amalgamation agreements and related correspondence;
  • General (1888-1920): papers marking the bank’s centenary, miscellaneous photographs, sale catalogue of Newcastle property.

Administrative / Biographical History

Lambton & Company was established in 1788, in Newcastle, as Bland, Randell, Chambers, G. Hoar, Smoult & Ashworth. It was otherwise known as the ‘Bank in Newcastle’ and, informally, as the ‘Bank of the Coal Trade’, because of its substantial connections with coal mining. The partnership was renamed Lambton, Williamson, Randell, Chambers & Smoult in 1790, when Ralph John Lambton was made a partner. He was uncle to the Earl of Durham, a major local land and colliery owner. The Lambtons remained senior partners and in 1844 the bank was renamed just Lambton & Co. It opened branches throughout the north-east of England. The bank began amalgamation talks with Barclays in 1895, but it was finally taken over by Lloyds Bank in 1908.

Conditions Governing Access

Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. An 'Application for Access' form must be completed by researchers prior to their visit. Please e-mail Lloyds Banking Group Archives (archives@lloydsbanking.com) for further details and a copy of the form.

Other Finding Aids

Item level catalogue available - please e-mail Lloyds Banking Group Archives (archives@lloydsbanking.com) for further details.