Parish records of York, St Maurice

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1650-1966 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1779-1812. From June 1876 the register is for the united parishes of St Maurice and Holy Trinity Goodramgate); register of marriages, 1650-1966; register of burials, 1650-1854 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1798-1812, ages only 1798-1807); register of banns, 1845-1879, 1888-1898, 1937-1967; register of services, 1868-1954, 1965-1966; charity records, including account book, 1825-1955, and list of benefactions, 1899, churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1734-1873, fabric papers, 1882-1931, and churchyard papers, 1827; records of incumbents, including dilapidations, 1932; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1828-1836, 1868-1871, poor law tokens, [19th century], and maintenance bond, 1824; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Church of England Men's Society, St Maurice Branch minute book, 1906-1909, and account for purchase and mortgage of parish room, 1901; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1795-1849, 1911-1965, map of parish boundaries, [20th century], and roll of service, 1914-1919; Deanery of York ruridecanal conference members book, [20th century, pre-1966]; church banner (19th-20th century].

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Maurice was first mentioned in a document dated between 1195 and 1210 when it was held by the Dean and Chapter of York and subject to their peculiar jurisdiction. It was annexed to the Prebends of Fridaythorpe and Fenton until the 13th century when Archbishop Gray united the moieties as one rectory under the Prebend of Fenton, who retained it until the 16th century. A vicarage was ordained there in 1240. The parish lay outside of the city walls and close to Monk Bar.

In 1586 the parish, together with that of St John del Pyke, was united with Holy Trinity Goodramgate to become Holy Trinity in Goodramgate with St John del Pyke and St Maurice without Monkbar. St Maurice’s Church was retained however and continued to be used until the 1870s when it was replaced by a more modern, larger building, designed by architect Charles Fisher of York.

In 1966 part of the parish was united with St Thomas to form the parish of St Thomas with St Maurice, and the remainder was joined with St Michael le Belfrey. St Thomas’ became the parish church and St Maurice’s Church was demolished the following year.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1965 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1982, 1986 and 2016.

Note

The church of St Maurice was first mentioned in a document dated between 1195 and 1210 when it was held by the Dean and Chapter of York and subject to their peculiar jurisdiction. It was annexed to the Prebends of Fridaythorpe and Fenton until the 13th century when Archbishop Gray united the moieties as one rectory under the Prebend of Fenton, who retained it until the 16th century. A vicarage was ordained there in 1240. The parish lay outside of the city walls and close to Monk Bar.

In 1586 the parish, together with that of St John del Pyke, was united with Holy Trinity Goodramgate to become Holy Trinity in Goodramgate with St John del Pyke and St Maurice without Monkbar. St Maurice’s Church was retained however and continued to be used until the 1870s when it was replaced by a more modern, larger building, designed by architect Charles Fisher of York.

In 1966 part of the parish was united with St Thomas to form the parish of St Thomas with St Maurice, and the remainder was joined with St Michael le Belfrey. St Thomas’ became the parish church and St Maurice’s Church was demolished the following year.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1650-1966, marriages, 1650-1960, and burials, 1650-1854, churchwardens' accounts, 1734-1873, and vestry minutes, 1795-1849, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 858-859, 1758, 1783).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute see the parish records of York, Holy Trinity Goodramgate which include St Maurice baptisms, November 1874 - June 1876, and a faculty for repairs to St Maurice Church, 1896. See also the parish records of York, Holy Trinity King's Court which include a faculty for the transfer of a clock to the tower of St Maurice Church, 1938.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193