Medical photographs and illustrations from the Wilkie Building

Scope and Content

Collection of images of 19th-20th century medical men. Some have specific connections to the University of Edinburgh, others are contemporaries. These individuals are: Carl Ludwig (1816-1895) [3 images, one with an accompanying note by 'E.S.S.' (most likely Sir Edward Sharpey-Schafer)], John Burdon Sanderson (1828-1906), Michael Foster (1836-1907), Hugo Kronecker (1839-1914) [inscribed in German to 'Eduard Schafer' (most likely Sir Edward Sharpey-Schafer) from Kronecker], Emile Roux (1853-1933), Albert Calmette (1863-1933) and Charles Lovatt Evans (1884-1968).

There is also a group photograph of the opening of the Surgical Research Department (1938), a group photograph 'Neurophysiology 1924-1964', taken at Cambridge in 1964 (the names of the individuals in both group photos are given), and a print of an engraving of John Hunter (1728-1793).

Administrative / Biographical History

The Wilkie building forms part of the Medical School complex in Teviot Row, Edinburgh. The Surgical Research Department was opened there in 1938.

Acquisition Information

Found by staff during clearout of the Wilkie Building, Acc 05/031.