Records of Welsh Water and of the predecessor bodies that had water responsibilities in the Conwy area prior to the existence of Welsh Water.
The first development of water supply in Colwyn Bay was the building of a small reservoir at Rhiw. In 1878 the Colwyn Bay Water Works Company was formed and started to design a more comprehensive water supply scheme. The resulting water works were purchased by the Conway Rural Sanitary Authority in 1886. In 1891 the Conway and Colwyn Bay Joint Water Supply Board (also known as the Cowlyd Board) was created and work began on bringing water to the area from Llyn Cowlyd. This work was finished in 1900. A 15" main was inaugurated in 1911 and an 18" main in 1948.
The first waterworks for the Llandudno area were opened in 1880 and used the Llyn Dulyn and the smaller Llyn Melyn as its source. The Llandudno Urban District Council took over responsibility for the Llandudno waterworks from the Llandudno Improvement Commissioners when it was established in 1895.
In 1965 the water undertakings of the LUDC and the CCBJWSB along with those of the Llanfairfechan Urban District Council, Penmaenmawr Urban District Council, Colwyn Bay Borough Council, Conway Borough Council, Nant Conway Rural District Council and Betws-y-Coed Urban District Council were amalgamated to form the Conway Valley Water Board. In 1974 this Board was also dissolved to become part of the Welsh National Water Development Authority. The Welsh Water Authority was privatised in 1989.