Papers of John Alexander Henderson(fl 1890 - 1928), antiquary, Aberdeen

Scope and Content

GB 231 2034 - 2041 Collection of notes and extracts relating to history and topography of Aberdeenshire, compiled by John Alexander Henderson (fl 1890 - 1928). The papers are un-dated, but appear to relate to his local history researches and publications of the late nineteenth and early 20th centuries. They comprise notes and extracts relating to history and topography of Aberdeenshire (general) (GB 231 MS 2034); copies of curious epitaphs on tombstones in churchyards throughout Great Britain (GB 231 MS 2035); notes on Leochel-Cushnie antiquities (GB 231 MS 2036); transcript, with corrections and additions, of paper entitled Points in Aberdeen history from a newspaper file, 1747 - 1800. Value of the Aberdeen Journal (GB 231 MS 2037); notes of sasines concerning Mowats of Balquholly, Keiths, Leiths, Cummings of Culter, and Irvings, c 1600 - 1630, compiled for John Alexander Henderson, by M. Rose, ? of London (GB 231 MS 2038); notes on Alford antiquities (GB 231 MS 2039); notes on Brux estate, Kildrummy, Aberdeenshire (GB 231 MS 2040); and collection of extracts from Kirk Session Registers, Maryculter, Aberdeenshire, 1719-1812 (GB 231 MS 2041)

GB 231 MS 2261 - 2262 Further small collection of John Alexander Henderson's (fl 1890 - 1928) local history research papers, late 19th c - early 20th c. The papers include transcript of register of marriages, St Nicholas Church, Aberdeen, 1695 - 1759 (GB 231 MS 2261); and collection of extracts and notes on Deeside (Aberdeenshire and Kincardineshire), compiled 1896 - 1909 (GB 231 MS 2262)

Administrative / Biographical History

John Alexander Henderson (fl 1890 - 1928), antiquary, sometime editor of Scottish Notes and Queries, was the author of History of the Parish of Banchory-Devenick, illustrated by William Taylor, (Aberdeen: Wyllie, 1890); Annals of Lower Deeside: being a Topographical, Proprietary, Ecclesiastical, and Antiquarian History of Durris, Drumoak, and Culter (Aberdeen: Wyllie, 1892); Aberdeenshire Epitaphs and Inscriptions, with Historical, Biographical, Genealogical, and Antiquarian Notes (Aberdeen: Aberdeen Daily Journal, 1907); and Twenty-one Aberdeen Events of the Nineteenth Century (Aberdeen: Aberdeen Daily Journal, 1912), re-printed as 21 Stories of Auld Aberdeen (Newtongrange: Lang Syne Publishing, 1985).

An active member of the New Spalding Club (1868 - 1928), and editor of History of the Society of Advocates in Aberdeen (Aberdeen: New Spalding Club, 1912), he played a significant role in the Club's revival after the death of its secretary, P.J. Anderson in 1926, and in the formation of the Third Spalding Club in 1928. For further details see W. Douglas Simpson, The Three Spalding Clubs: a Century in Retrospect, in Third Spalding Club Miscellany, vol. 2 (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1940), pp. xiii-xxxii.


None observed - listing in progress

Access Information

Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet

Acquisition Information

MS 2034-41: date and source not recorded. Probably deposited in Apr 1940; MS 2034-41: date and source not recorded. Probably deposited in Apr 1940; MS 2261-62: date and source not recorded. Probably also deposited in Apr 1940.

Other Finding Aids

Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online

Alternative Form Available

No copies known

Conditions Governing Use

Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.

Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures


No accruals expected

Related Material

Records of the New Spalding Club. A separate collection level description is available on the Archives Hub.

Records of the Third Spalding Club. A separate collection level description is available on the Archives Hub

Notes on Leochel-Cushnie Church and churchyard, compiled by W. Tawse, Aberdeen, from articles in Scottish Notes and Queries (containing many references to Patrick Copland) (GB 231 MS 2032)


The material in this collection appears to be broadly related to Henderson's local history publications (see Administrative History for bibliographical details). Further details may be established during more detailed listing of the papers

Additional Information

This material is original