Records of Upper Killay Congregational Church, 1911-2002, comprising minute books and registers, 1911-2002; financial records, 1914-1988, including annual reports, 1914-1929; correspondence relating to Church trusteeship, 1937-1979; Church histories, 1961, 1986; copies of 'Daybreak', the Church magazine, 1995-1998.
Records of Upper Killay Congregational Church
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Upper Killay Congregational Church (also called Pines Congregational Church), Upper Killay, Glamorgan (now Swansea), grew from a prayer meeting of members of Capel-y-crwys, Three Crosses, held at The Pines Cottage in Upper Killay in 1909. A chapel was built on land leased from the Sketty Park Estate in 1911. Initially services were held in both English and Welsh; today the chapel is English speaking. Formerly affiliated to the Congregational Union, the church joined the Congregational Federation rather than the United Reformed Church in 1972.
Arranged into the following: minute books and registers; financial records; Church trusteeship; Church histories; Church magazines.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformist - Congregational - Records Of Upper Killay Congregational Church, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected