• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 P88
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      8 boxes 0.128 cubic metres

Scope and Content

Comprising: Registers of Baptism, 1557-1983; Registers of Marriages, 1557-1992; Registers of Burials, 1557-1987; Registers of Banns, 1823-1977; Registers of Services, 1913-1968; Incumbents' papers, 1844-1940; Churchwardens' records, 1830-1957; Vestry and Parochial Church Council records, 1905-1957; Township records, 1720-1879; Charities and Trusts, 1668-1930; and Miscellaneous records, 1877-1960s

Administrative / Biographical History

There is no primary or secondary evidence to confirm when Finningley, Holy Trinity & St Oswald was first built. However, in his 1877 work 'Finningley. A Memorial to His Friends and Parishioners', a copy of which can be found in section 10 of this collection, the Revd Gervas Harvey Woodhouse provides the following speculative summary of its history:

"[The Revd Joseph] Hunter suggests that it was erected by the tenants of Mowbray; but the name of Fenningley; the name of the Patron Saint (Oswald); the very ancient south entrance; the extremely simple old font; the small splayed lights in the belfry tower seem to point to a period much earlier than that of Mowbray, and one cannot but feel convinced that the tower, south entrance, and south wall as far as the chancel, formed part of a small church in Anglo Saxon days."


The collection is made up of six series:

P88/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship

P88/2: Incumbent

P88/3: Churchwardens

P88/6: Township

P88/7: Charities & Trusts

P88/10: Miscellaneous

Access Information


Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries

Custodial History

These records were transferred from Nottinghamshire Archives in February 2012, after Finningley became part of the archdeaconry of Doncaster

Related Material