Memorandum and articles of association 1891; memorandum and new articles of association 1937; Directors' report 1938; weekly reports: coal consumption, blackplate, yield, etc. 1947; private ledger 1934-1939; office ledger 1935-1939; nominal ledger 1939-1941; cash book 1938-1939; Auditors' reports and accounts 1937-1938; wage-cost sheets 1938-1939; makes, yields and cost sheets 1947; sales journal 1936-1939; stock book 1935-1939; stock file 1946; correspondence files 1937-1939 and 1941-1943.
Western Tinplate Works
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1863 the Marshfield Iron and Tin Works were built at Llanelli by Messrs. Nevill, Everitt and Company. Initially it seems that only blackplate was made at the works. By 1876 they were trading as The Marshfield Company Limited and operated 4 mills. In 1872 the works were sold to C. Budde and Company Limited, Birmingham. The Marshfield Iron Works closed down in 1879 but in December 1879 the Western Tinplate Company was formed by Messrs. Josiah T. Smith, general manager of the Barrow Steel Company, George Byng Morris, and W. H. Forester. In 1881 the Western Tinplate Works Limited was registered and by 1893 had 9 mills. In April 1939 the works were acquired by the Llanelly Associated Tinplate Companies Limited and ceased to trade as a separate company. The works were acquired by The Steel Company of Wales Limited in 1947.
Conditions Governing Access
Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that somecollections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.