- Balance sheet, 1897;
- Brewing notebooks, 1903–1906, 1898–1945;
- Water analysis details, c1930;
- Building contracts, c1920s;
- Headed notepaper, c1910s;
- Printing plate, c1900;
- Biographical notes, 20th century;
- Historical notes and articles, 1882–1996;
- Artefact, c1920.
Records of Mark Binnie & Co, brewers, Haddington, Scotland
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 BH
- Dates of Creation1882-1996
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.12 linear metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Mark Binnie built the Nungate Brewery, Westgate End, Haddington, East Lothian, in 1881 and commenced brewing in 1882. His sons, William and John, joined him in business prior to 1900. Mark Binnie died in 1924 and was succeeded by his son, William T Binnie, who ran the business until 1937 when the trade and goodwill were sold to William Younger & Co Ltd, Edinburgh. The Nungate Brewery was sold as a wire works.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Access to certain records within this collection is restricted in accordance with data protection legislation as they contain information about potentially living individuals. Please email Archives and Special Collections for advice: firstname.lastname@example.org
Other Finding Aids
See also University of Glasgow Collections
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original