Parish records of Skirpenbeck

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1660-1993 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages, 1660-1753, 1755-1837; register of burials, 1660-1993 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns, 1825-1963; register of services, 1932-1944; records concerning benefice income, including glebe papers, 1884, 1925; churchwardens’ accounts, 1874-1940; constables’ accounts and assessments, 1781-1838; records of incumbents, including mortgage for new parsonage house, 1841; overseers’ accounts and assessments, 1772-1837; school managers' minutes of meetings, 1902-1941; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including enclosure act, 1758.

Administrative / Biographical History

The present parish church of St Mary’s, Skirpenbeck, dates to the twelfth century. In c.1150-1160 it was given by Walter de Chancy and his son to the Abbey of Whitby, who held the church and patronage until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown. The church also had a chantry chapel dedicated to St Agatha.

The church tower was built in the eigtheenth century and the church was restored in 1893-1894 by architect Robert Keirle of London. A new rectory was built in 1841.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Garrowby Hill, which also includes Bishop Wilton, Bugthorpe, Full Sutton and Kirby Underdale.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980 and 1993.

Note

The present parish church of St Mary’s, Skirpenbeck, dates to the twelfth century. In c.1150-1160 it was given by Walter de Chancy and his son to the Abbey of Whitby, who held the church and patronage until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown. The church also had a chantry chapel dedicated to St Agatha.

The church tower was built in the eigtheenth century and the church was restored in 1893-1894 by architect Robert Keirle of London. A new rectory was built in 1841.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Garrowby Hill, which also includes Bishop Wilton, Bugthorpe, Full Sutton and Kirby Underdale.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1660-1993, marriages, 1660-1837, burials, 1660-1993, and banns, 1825-1860, 1886-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 783, 1579, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193