Records of Glasgow Homeopathic Hospital, Glasgow, Scotland

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

  • Minutes of General Committee/Board of Management, 1911-1974;
  • Minutes of Committees, 1911-1974;
  • Annual reports, 1934-1947;
  • Miscellaneous, 1931-1965;
  • Correspondence and subject files, 1946-1974;
  • Accounts, 1948-1974;
  • Publications, 1948-1974

Administrative / Biographical History

The Hospital was opened in 1914. It had been promoted by the office bearers of a homeopathic dispensary founded in 1909. The original hospital was replaced by the present premises in 1931: at that time it had 30 beds. This has now been reduced to 20. The Hospital was under the Board of Management for Glasgow Homeopathic Hospitals from 1948 to 1974 and shared a secretariat with the Board of Management for Kirkintilloch and Kilsyth Hospitals and the Board of Management for Glasgow Dental Hospital. In 1974 it was placed in the Western District of the Greater Glasgow Health Board and in 1993 it became the responsibility of the West Glasgow University NHS Trust. This was replaced in 1999 by the larger North Glasgow University Hospitals NHS Trust which also includes Glasgow Royal Infirmary, Gartnavel General, the Dental Hospital and Stobhill Hospital. In 2004, as part of the reintegration of the NHS, the North Glasgow Division of NHS Greater Glasgow replaced the North Glasgow University Hospitals NHS Trust. The Homoeopathic Hospital moved into custom-built premises on the Gartnavel site in October 2000 which is currently located.

Arrangement

Arranged in series.

Conditions Governing Access

Open.

Other Finding Aids

A paper based finding aid can be located in the searchroom.

Appraisal Information

Appraised according to standard GB 0812 procedure.

Accruals

Further accurals expected.