Register of Explosive Store Visits, Wyndham Colliery and Penllwyngwent Colliery, 1963-1965; Deputy's General Reports, Wyndham Colliery, 1966
Wyndham Colliery and Penllwyngwent Colliery, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Wyndham Colliery was located in Ogmore Vale. It was opened by John Brogden and Sons in 1868. By 1880 it was owned by the Tondu and Ogmore Coal and Iron Company. Later the lease was bought by Cory Bros. & Co. Ltd. who owned the Colliery until the nationalisation of the coal industry in 1947. Penllwyngwent Colliery was opened by the Cory Bros. in 1906. During 1942 the Colliery came under the control of Powell Duffryn Colliery Company. It was closed by the National Coal Board on 28 February 1969.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Items containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with data protection legislation and GA policy.
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Rhian Diggins for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to http://www.welshcoalmines.co.uk (viewed 19/02/2016)
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records were amongst a collection acquired by Bridgend Libraries from various local sources, including Ogmore Vale Historical Society. They were transferred by Bridgend Libraries to Glamorgan Archives with consent of the original donor where known.
Accruals are not expected.