Parish records of Kirkby Wharfe

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1583-1888; register of marriages, 1587-1955, 1957-1981; register of burials, 1586-1876; register of banns, 1866-1953; register of services, 1890-2010; register of Ulleskelf services, 1938-1959; records concerning benefice income, including tithe accounts, 1687-1704, 1732-1795, tithe papers, 1919, 1922, 1933, 1936-7, correspondence and papers, 1913-1915, 1933-1955, and Ulleskelf estate sale map, early 20th century; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1697-1930, restoration papers, 1860, fabric papers, 1819, 1950- 2008 (with gaps), churchyard papers, 1958, 1964-1965, and Ulleskelf accounts, 1898-1909; records of incumbents, including vicars' memoranda book, 17th century-1809, memoranda of vicar, 1882-1901, notes on parish events, 1906-1918, historical notes, 20th century, parsonage house papers, 1799, 1807, 1874, 1889, 1935, 1943-1963, and statistical returns, 1907-1918, 1921-1929, 1934-1937; school records, including subscribers' committee minutes of meetings, 1875-1890, and agreement for lease of Ulleskelf school house, 1938; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1949-1967, 1988-1997, accounts, 1934-1939, 1953-1979, and magazines, 1882-1885, 1888-1889; photographs of extended churchyard, n.d; photographs of Millennium celebrations in Ulleskelf, 2000.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Kirkby Wharfe from at least the thirteenth century. The church, which is dedicated to St John the Baptist, was appropriated to the Prebend of Wetwang and a vicarage ordained there in the 1240s. It remained subject to the Peculiar Jurisdiction of Wetwang until the nineteenth century.
The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1757. The church was restored in 1819, with the addition of new galleries and pews, and again c.1860. It was re-reroofed in the 1950s. There was a vicarage house from at least the 1790s.
In addition to Kirkby Wharfe itself, the parish historically included Ulleskelf, Grimston and North Milford.
Today of the parish is known as Kirkby Wharfe and Ulleskelfe and it is part of the united benefice of Tadcaster, together with Church Fenton, Stutton and Tadcaster.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1972 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1981, 1983, 1990, 2002 and 2014.

Note

There was a church at Kirkby Wharfe from at least the thirteenth century. The church, which is dedicated to St John the Baptist, was appropriated to the Prebend of Wetwang and a vicarage ordained there in the 1240s. It remained subject to the Peculiar Jurisdiction of Wetwang until the nineteenth century.
The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1757. The church was restored in 1819, with the addition of new galleries and pews, and again c.1860. It was re-reroofed in the 1950s. There was a vicarage house from at least the 1790s.
In addition to Kirkby Wharfe itself, the parish historically included Ulleskelf, Grimston and North Milford.
Today of the parish is known as Kirkby Wharfe and Ulleskelfe and it is part of the united benefice of Tadcaster, together with Church Fenton, Stutton and Tadcaster.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2014.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1583-1888, marriages, 1587-1968, and burials, 1586-1876, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (Reference: MF 718).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 24.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The records of Reverend Peter P. Wood, vicar of Kirkby Wharfe, 1972-1985, are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193