Records relating to Swansea St Mary Parish, 1726-1918, including records of the parish workhouse, 1817-1833; poor rate books, 1726-1918; tithe plan and apportionment, 1843.
Swansea St Mary Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
During the late Middle Ages the parish became increasingly important as a unit of civil administration. From the 16th century unpaid parish officers were responsible for keeping the peace, repairing roads and assisting the poor, by means of a rate levied on the inhabitants of the parish. Civil parish councils were established by the Local Government Act 1894, taking over responsibilities from parish vestry meetings. The parish of Swansea St Mary was in the county of Glamorgan, until local government reorganisation in 1974, when it became part of West Glamorgan. The ancient parish consisted of four townships: Swansea Town and Franchise (the ancient borough), St Thomas, Swansea Higher and Swansea Lower.
Arranged into the following: Swansea St Mary (Town and Franchise); Clase Urban and Rural; Llansamlet Division; Swansea Higher Division; Swansea Higher and Lower Divisions; Penderry Division; St Thomas.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Swansea St Mary (Swansea Town and Franchise), catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected