St Mark's Convent, Florence: Library Catalogue

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

'Repertorium sive index librorum latine et grece bibliothece Conventus Sancti Marci de Florentia ordinis Predicatorum', a catalogue of the library of St Mark's Convent, Florence, transcribed for J.W. Clark from the original catalogue in the State Archives, Modena, 64 folios.

Attached to a fly-leaf are letters from G. Jervis to J.W. Clark, 14 June 1898 and 13 and 27 August 1898. Inside the front cover is the following note: 'To be given to the University Library, after Dr. M.R. James has made whatever use of it he pleases J.W. Clark 29 Aug. 1898'.

Administrative / Biographical History

The original St Mark's Convent was built by the twelfth century. During the 1430s Pope Eugenius IV gave permission for the Dominican order to found a monastery on the site. Michelozzo was commissioned by the Florentine ruler Cosimo il Vecchio to rebuild the convent, which and fallen into a state of disrepair, and the new monastery became a centre for humanism. The convent's library was built in 1444.

John Willis Clark (1833-1910), man of science and archaologist, was educated at Eton and at Trinity College, Cambridge, where he studied classics. He became a fellow in 1858, and thereafter worked as superintendent of the Museum of Zoology, 1866-1891, and registrar of the University, 1891-1910.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Dr M.R. James, 1917.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled with reference to the entries on John Willis Clark in Sidney Lee, ed., Dictionary of national biography, 1901-1911 (Oxford University Press, 1927), pp. 361-362.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.