Parish records of Settrington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1559-1977; register of marriages, 1559-1999; register of burials, 1559-1979; register of banns, 1821-2014; register of services, 1896-1899, 1910-1992; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1876-1939; charity records, including accounts, 1824-1836, and note of lands purchased, n.d; churchwardens’ accounts, 1771-1920, and fabric papers, 1979-1995; records of incumbents, including parish history correspondence and papers, 1876-1888, and parsonage house papers, 1887; overseers’ records, including overseers’ book, 1820-1863; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes, 1988-1992, 1994-2004, accounts and correspondence, 1993-1994, vestry minutes and cash book for Settrington and Scagglethorpe, 1920-1948, parish boundary maps, 1965, and photocopy maps of parish, 1599, 1961; photographs of church buildings and ornaments, 1960s.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Settrington from at least the twelfth century. The church originally comprised a vicarage and rectory but these were consolidated by Archbishop Walter de Gray in 1249. The manor and advowson was held by the Bigod family, Earls of Norfolk, until 1302 when Roger Bigod alienated both to Sir John Bigod of Stockton who founded a Settrington branch of the family. It descended with the family line until the sixteenth century. By the 1840s it had passed to the Earls of Bridgewater.

The present parish church, which is dedicated to All Saints, dates to the late twelfth century, although the tower was built in the fifteenth. The chancel was rebuilt in 1867-1868 by architect John Loughborough Pearson and the interior includes the later work of Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson of Kilburn. In 1951 the south aisle chapel was restored by George Pace.

The parish includes the township of Scagglethorpe. Today Settrington with Scagglethorpe is part of the united parish and benefice of West Buckrose, which also includes Acklam, Birdsall, Burythorpe, Langton, Leavening, North Grimston and Westow.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1997, 1999, 2007, 2013 and 2014.

Note

There was a church at Settrington from at least the twelfth century. The church originally comprised a vicarage and rectory but these were consolidated by Archbishop Walter de Gray in 1249. The manor and advowson was held by the Bigod family, Earls of Norfolk, until 1302 when Roger Bigod alienated both to Sir John Bigod of Stockton who founded a Settrington branch of the family. It descended with the family line until the sixteenth century. By the 1840s it had passed to the Earls of Bridgewater.

The present parish church, which is dedicated to All Saints, dates to the late twelfth century, although the tower was built in the fifteenth. The chancel was rebuilt in 1867-1868 by architect John Loughborough Pearson and the interior includes the later work of Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson of Kilburn. In 1951 the south aisle chapel was restored by George Pace.

The parish includes the township of Scagglethorpe. Today Settrington with Scagglethorpe is part of the united parish and benefice of West Buckrose, which also includes Acklam, Birdsall, Burythorpe, Langton, Leavening, North Grimston and Westow.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2007.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1559-1900, banns, 1822-1901, and churchwardens' accounts, 1771-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 773, 1757, 1763, 1774).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 03.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The register of the parish of Settrington. 1559-1812.' Transcribed and edited by Francis Collins (Leeds, 1910).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193