Records of 282 Group Royal Observer Corps

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Comprises records of 282 Group Royal Observer Corps including:

  • Circulars and orders issued from headquarters, 1941-1945
  • Certificate of Owen Pritchard's membership of the Royal Observer Corp Club, Post B2, Group 282, 1941

Administrative / Biographical History

Royal Observer Corp groups throughout the country were used to locate and identify aircraft entering and crossing British airspace. Members of the mainly voluntary Observer Corps were on duty day and night, watching and listening to identify and report the location of aircraft. Groups of observer posts were first formed in 1925 and were used from 1939-1945 to identify approaching Luftwaffe bombers. During 1941, they became the Royal Observer Corps. Changes in technology and world politics led to the Royal Observer Corps posts being stood down in 1991.

During the Second World War the headquarters of 282 Group Royal Observer Corps was based at 31, Bangor Street, Caernarfon, in Gwynedd, north Wales with outposts in the local area. Owen Pritchard of Newborough, Anglesey was admitted in 1941 to the membership of 282 Group Royal Observer Corps, Post B2, which was based at Llanddwyn, Anglesey.

Arrangement

Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

Given by Mr Owen Pritchard of Ty'n-rallt, Newborough, Anglesey to R. Sloane of the University of Wales, Bangor for deposit at the Archives Department.

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, March 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 31695-31742

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.