Holds records created by the staff of Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy (under its current and former name), including school reports, admission registers, attendance registers, as well as correspondence between the Headmaster and alumni, including Speech Day guest speakers. In addition the collection holds material written by pupils (namely in relation to sport and the School Magazine).
Records of Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy (Llanrwst Grammar School)
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CE42
- Dates of Creation1895-2004
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description26 boxes, 9 outsize vols, 8 outsize photographs
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llanrwst Grammar School was founded by Sir John Wynne of Gwydir in 1610. In 1612 was the 'Orders, Rules, Statutes and Ordinances' that there should be a free school (Ysgol Râd). Between 1822-1828 the school was closed. The school then changed its name to Llanrwst County School in 1895. In 1939 it was re-established as The Llanrwst Grammar School (the title of Grammar School can only be applied to schools founded in the 16th and 17th Century, having sprung up originally chiefly as a consequence of the Reformation. One of their early objects, as the name implies, was the teaching of Latin Grammar to the pupils attending them). In 1962 the school changed its name again to Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy, Llanwrst.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
26 Boxes, 9 outsize volumes, 8 outsize photographs
Deposited 10 February 2005 by Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy, per Janet Price, Deputy Head. Additional records were deposited 30 April 2007 per Anna Williams.