The collection consists of material relating to the company, and of a personal nature. The latter is made up of correspondence and diaries (c.1875 to c.1889) concerning Isaac, James and Horace Arthur Fisher. The most important evidence of the firm's activities is contained in 19 bundles of detailed solicitor's bills, 1817-1849, 1877. There is also a ledger kept by the executors of Isaac Fisher, 1847-1902, and a number of stock books, 1826 to 1908.
Papers of James Fisher and Company, Lace Manufacturers, Nottingham, 1817-1908
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Fi
- Dates of Creation1817-1908
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description6 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The lace making firm of James Fisher and Co. first appears in a Nottingham trades directory in 1825; the firm seems to have been based in London prior to this date. A factory was initially established at Short Hill, Nottingham but later moved to George Street (renamed Moorgate Street at the end of the nineteenth century) in New Radford. By 1830 the firm had become known as Fisher and Robinson's, and by 1910 had been taken over by William Hirst and Sons Ltd. However, due to a decline in the market for lace the factory was demolished in 1962.
The collection is divided into six sections: A Accounts, C Correspondence, D Deeds, J Diaries and Journal, L Legal papers, S Stock Books. Material is arranged chronologically within each section.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 2 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 2 pp
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The records were received by Nottingham University Library in July 1960, from a member of staff of A. C. Gill Ltd, Nottingham. The archive does not record a link between the firms.