Records of Alexander King (Wishaw) Ltd, wholesaleconfectioners, Wishaw, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

  • Minutes 1942-1967
  • Directors' reports 1967-1968
  • Board related papers 1870, 1912-1950
  • Ledgers 1862-1890, 1915-1955
  • Account books 1952-1982
  • Cashbooks 1883-1973
  • Bank account books 1858-1979
  • Salary records 1894-1982
  • Daybooks and stock books 1893-1966
  • Rent books 1884-1965
  • Sales books 1960-1968
  • Staff records 1895-1949
  • Correspondence 1829-1960
  • Production records 1900-1989
  • Premises records 1884-1962
  • Advertising and marketing material 1898-1975
  • Trade catalogues 1926-1985
  • Photographs 1903-1950s
  • Material relating to the Scottish Association of Manufacturing Confectioners (SAMC) 1959-1979

Administrative / Biographical History

Alexander King was originally a farmer in Netherton, South Lanarkshire, Scotland, but he moved from farming to commercial jam production just prior to 1858  . However, the problems of obtaining supplies of fruit and sugar in sufficient quantities during the winter months made this a seasonal occupation, so Alexander King diversified his endeavours to encompass wholesale fruit vending and the manufacture of sweets. In 1860,  the firm, known as Alexander King , occupied premises in King Street, Wishaw, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, and by 1883  they owned two shops in the town, one in the main street and one on Stewarton Street. There was also a brief partnership with between 1875 and 1882, John Newlands the aim of which seems to have been to provide the company with further retail outlets.

Alexander King's unexpected death in 1887  caused difficulties for the firm as he left no will. As a result the company came into the hands of a trust established to provide for Alexander King's six children and his second wife. The eldest son, Alexander King, jnr, was appointed manager. In 1921  the trust was dissolved and a limited liability company, Alexander King (Wishaw) Ltd , constituted with Alexander King, jnr, as managing director. In 1949,  the firm ceased jam production and concentrated on the production of boiled sweets, lozenges and 'oddfellows', with Scotland as the major outlet. The company went into receivership in the late 1980s  and in 1990  changed its name to Cambusnethan Confectionery Co Ltd which still traded in 2002. The last chairman was George King who joined the company in 1924  and succeeded his father as managing director in 1940  .

Arrangement

This material is arranged into series, which consist of numbers of items related by function and/or format. Within series, the items are generally arranged chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Acquisition Information

Deposited via BAC(S) surveying officer in 1990, after liquidation of the company

Other Finding Aids

Manual file level list available in searchroom and at the National Register of Archives in Edinburgh (NRA(S)2308)

Alternative Form Available

No known copies

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures

Custodial History

Unknown

Accruals

None expected

Related Material

See source list on Food and Agriculture available via Glasgow University Archive Services homepage at http://www.archives.gla.ac.uk

Bibliography

No known publications using this material

Additional Information

This material is original

Compiled by Jenny Bunn , Assistant Archivist, 14 February 2000

Revised by David Powell, 20 December 2002

Geographical Names